Winter Uniform

Now that it is almost spring –  it is high time to put up a photo of the personal uniform I’ve been wearing this winter!  But the disclaimer is that I do so much physical labor, I’ve actually gotten sort of precious with the uniform and usually wear it “out” – like when I’m in public – but not in the studio.  Which defeats the purpose of having a uniform – right?  Or maybe needing some legitimate work clothes is actually just an excuse to try a bunch of new designs before winter is officially over.  Here are some new sweater/poncho things that I’ve made to wear with jeans when I’m trying to keep warm at work.  (ok – so the amber necklace isn’t really work gear – but I found it at Pioneer Crossing last week when I was looking for accessories for the shelves we just made for the show in Berlin).

6 Comments on “Winter Uniform”

  1. […] Check out the work of Andrea Zittel. I’m not sure I can properly convey in words how spectacular I think the these pieces are; coveting the dress and sweater especially. There is also desert living, indigo dyeing, a boy named Emmett, and a cat named Thunder Angel. Really worth a look! Now that it is almost spring –  it is high time to put up a photo of the personal uniform I’ve been wearing this winter!  But the disclaimer is that I do so much physical labor, I’ve actually gotten sort of precious with the uniform and usually wear it “out” – like when I’m in public – but not in the studio.  Which defeats the purpose of having a uniform – right?  Or maybe needing some legitimate work clothes is actually just an excuse to try a b … Read More […]

  2. molly says:

    I love them all! Especially the gold and black. Where do you find the material?

    • andrea zittel says:

      Hi Molly – they are crocheted with this really nice Alpaca wool that I’ve been using these last few years.

  3. Caitlin says:

    Your designs are beautiful! Would be willing to share your patterns (if you have them available) or some pointers on making these astonishing pieces (especially the tan and black poncho). Thank you for sharing , they’re an inspiration! Also, I respect it if you’d wish not to share ;).

    • andrea zittel says:

      Thank you Caitlin! And I would share the patterns if I had them – but unfortunately I don’t use any… I just make the shapes up as I go along.

  4. gricel says:

    Andrea, you has been an inspiration for me. I knitted 3 winter uniforms for me last 2012 in Alpaca wool which we can find here in Chile, becouse I think that one must work in good material due to the hard work that it means knitting a complete crocheted dress. I love so much my uniforms and thank you for inspiring me!!!


Leave a Reply

